Not Your Average Summer Reading List


I, like many people, always want more time – and one of the top things on my list that I would do if I had more time is read. But being a high school student with a busy schedule, I don’t, and as such, my reading has subsided to mandatory reading. And yet.

In my previous post I said that a girl named Maddie had come along with my family and I to this foster home in China. I had met her once about a year before, although her parents and mine were friends. Anyways, it had somehow come up in a discussion with us and two other people that we really like to read. Maddie and the guys we were talking with already do; I wish I did… awkward. It wasn’t a big deal, because we formed a book club! We’re going to Skype once a month. Now I’m motivated to read, and I am really excited! As soon as I came home from my trip, I went to the library and picked out a book called The Man from Beijing by Henning Menkell. It’s interesting, although it does get dull in a few parts. But I haven’t finished it – although I am close – so there is more to the story, I know it! (It’s a thriller about a mass murder in Sweden that leads to China.)

I also had a discussion with another girl, Emily, and Maddie one night. We went through all these books that we liked. And I can tell they are so much more well-read than I am! But I’m about to change that. In the suggestions were (just a few, and some of my wish list too…)

  • Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safranfoer, about a boy’s search through NYC after he finds a key that his dad left behind after he died in the 9/11 attacks.
  • The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis, simply put: about heaven and hell. Emily said that this was a life-changing book, and next on my list after The Man from Beijing.
  • Anthem by Ayn Rand, about a time where individuality is eliminated.
  • The Outsiders by S. E. Hilton, about two social classes and a boy’s journey through it.
  • The Crucible, by Arthur Miller, a play about the  Salem witch trials that are based on actual people and events.

It’s summer, and although I do have things to do, I will be reading! And come September, I won’t stop reading – I’ll do my best, at least! Do you have any suggestions? Please let me know! Only good books please. 😉 I’m going to make a page with the good books I read and a summary about them, if I can get myself to tell it without giving too much of it away!

I did have a summer reading list for school though: Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell and The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth by Alexandra Robbins. I definitely recommend the first one; it’s very interesting I found the information fascinating. The second is pretty eh. The book is pretty large, they swear several times (they could’ve just as easily referred to ‘the popular b****’ as ‘the popular girl’), and it seemed to me as if it were the same stuff over and over again. Outliers is about the quirks that make people different – and successful. The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth is basically about how not being popular is okay, ‘different’ people are actually the successful ones, etc. – I felt like it the message was pretty much the same over and over again. But you should decide for yourself, I suppose.

I hope this little post has inspired someone to read more… but go out and get your own summer reading list, because your teachers’ will not suffice! And if you don’t have a teacher or reading list… well go to www.goodreads.com, because they’ll make one for you!

“It is what you read when you don’t have to that determines what you will be when you can’t help it.”  -Oscar Wilde

Leave a Reply

