Ceaseless Serendipity


Serendipity is one of those ‘word-of-the-day’ words. According to the Random House dictionary, serendipity is defined as: “the faculty or phenomenon of finding valuable or agreeable things not sought for; also, an instance of this” – or, in the Merriam Kid’s Dictionary, “the gift of finding valuable or agreeable things not sought for.” I like the kids’ definition, seeing these serendipitous things as gifts rather than accidents or pure chance.
I find that ‘serendipitous activity’ goes on all the time in my life: meeting up with a college friend by chance in another country. Going to a store to buy something and you find there’s a buy one, get one free sale on that exact item. It’s serendipity.

Funny thing is, this serendipity has never had a start or stopping point. Sometimes I go, “what a small world!”, or “that’s awesome!”, or maybe “I’m so lucky!” at one thing or another. But wherever I go, I find that this gift of finding valuable things I had never been looking for happens all the time. Ceaselessly, in fact. So it’s with a breath of fresh air that I rename my blog “Ceaseless Serendipity”. Misadventures? Yeah. Life is a journey, and mine has always had a tint of awkward. But the serendipity I find? It’s constantly there. And that’s not an accident. It’s a blessing; a true gift.

FamilyPicture

PS. I just guest-wrote on another blog, Love Grows Here – the blog of the organization that I worked for for the past six weeks when I was in China. The blog is fantastic, and I feel so honored to be writing a post there! Check it out… prepare for cuteness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

