Little Fish, Big Pond


I have a lot of post drafts on this blog. Some go back a long way, but others not so much. I feel like I want to say something, but I’m not exactly sure what or how. But since it’s March, I’m in Dublin, and I’m a girl meeting the world (not just America and China), I figured I’d publish something! (I’m not going to post it all in one go, rather I will spread the posts out over time.)

For those who keep up with me on Facebook, you may have noticed that I’ve been posting a lot about travels – Dublin, Belfast, London, etc. while studying at University College Dublin (UCD). So I figured while I’m at it, I might as well document it here, for you! I will also be posting some hints and tips for you – especially my fellow study abroad-ers.

UCD.dorm

My room at UCD

The semester at UCD began at the end of January. I got into an on-campus apartment (Belgrove – super nice! Definitely would recommend), I have gotten somewhat acquainted with the campus. UCD is a big school, so it’s impossible to know everything, everywhere – but transportation has been essential – more on that later. It technically still is in Dublin (after all: University College Dublin), but it’s a bit farther from the city centre than I thought. I did a little research about how to get to the airport to UCD: turns out, there is a bus that goes straight from the airport to UCD! Perfect! It’s called AirCoach (tickets can be purchased at the airport and online), and it’s a bit of a ride, but it’s comfortable and direct!

As someone from Gordon College, a small school just north of Boston, I have to say UCD is very different. For starters, UCD has a population of about 32,000 students. That’s 30,000 more than Gordon! So yeah, little fish in a big pond. But I like more than the on-campus Starbucks. Travel, new friends, different cultures… I’m excited for what’s to come!

“We travel not to escape life, but for life not to escape us.” -Anonymous

2 thoughts on “Little Fish, Big Pond

  1. Andrea Baker

    Love your posts Margaret. Still can’t believe you get around the world to so many places.

    Jack has changed school this year and is much happier, joined all sorts of clubs and is making the most of it on the extracurricular and social side. Not so sure about the academic side – up till now he has been able to get by on very little work cos he is quite clever – but now he is almost 16 and this is his first year of exams that really count. Hopefully he will decide at some stage to apply himself.

    Not sure if I told you that Jack’s little 6 year old brother Max was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes a few months ago. Big changes for us all. He is doing so amazing and managing the multiple finger pricks and injections every day.

    Don’t get many photos of Jack these days but here is a recent one of us.

    Love hearing about your adventures, and looking forward to the next instalment.

    Love Andrea

    Reply
    1. margaretwright Post author

      Hi Andrea,
      It’s great to hear from you! I’m glad Jack is happy at his new school. During my time in high school, getting involved in clubs and extracurriculars was definitely fun – but I found that doing well in school was really rewarding. I hope Jack realises the same.
      I’m sorry to hear about Max’s diabetes! My mom was also diagnosed with diabetes, about 1 year ago now, and is doing well. It’s good to hear that Max is doing well too.
      Lots of big changes can be hard to adjust to. I hope you are doing well too! Thanks for the picture.
      I will do my best to keep you updated! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

